Pro Team

Katie Holden

Born in California. Raised in New York, Washington, Colorado & BC.

If you asked me what I thought my life would be like ten years ago, I would have rattled off a long list of things that I wanted to do. Bikes were nowhere to be found on that list. Then one day in September, it all changed. In the aftermath of 9/11 my high school class trip to Greece and Italy was canceled, and I found myself on a bike trip in the forests of the Pacific Northwest. No one could have predicted how those five days would change my life. Soccer, softball and swimming had dominated my athletic pursuits; within weeks, they were replaced by bikes. All that I could think about was riding bikes.

I live and breathe bikes. I need bikes. Bikes are me.

Like anything, riding has its ups and downs, but the roller coaster of a downhill ride only pulls me in deeper. While the lows are painful, they only make me love what I do more. If it was easy, I wouldn’t like it. Growth and progression keep it fun and fresh. You can always hit a bigger jump, rail a corner faster, and dominate a rock garden even more. You can always lift more weight, do more pull-ups and train harder. No matter how hard I train, I can always be better.

While bikes have given me more than I could have ever imagined, I am a passionate individual and pride myself on being well-rounded in my pursuits & interests. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science from the University of Colorado at Boulder and a Diploma in Destination Resort Management from Capilano University. I know how to reason, write, develop media content, manage time, manage people, and communicate effectively. I have competed in soccer, swimming & water polo, reached the state championship game as catcher in softball, and ski & snowboard recreationally. For as long as I can remember, travel has been a major part of my life, and I am happy to say that I have traveled to more than 40 countries on 6 continents, with and without my bike. I love people & cultures, and thrive on interactions, experiences and adventures.

Favorite Drink?
Bubbly water with lemon or lime

Favorite view or destination?
I have traveled all around the world but driving home to Whistler on the Sea to Sky highway never ceases to amaze me, it is just stunningly beautiful...I wake up thinking that I live in the most beautiful place in the world everyday.

What makes you a creactive?
Art/design/creativity fuels my life...I am never content with what I know now, I always want to learn and my favorite way to learn is by doing. Think outside the box.

Favorite song/band?
Music that gets me pumped and makes me want to dance!

What's in your bag?
What isn't in my bag...I think that's the better question! ha.

What is your equipment?
My 2 go to cameras are my Leica D-Lux 3 and a GoPro HD

What do you love about Joby products?
They can adapt to any environment you may find yourself in.

Favorite Book/Magazine?
Dirt, Outside, National Geographic in the magazine department. I can't pick one book but I am a big fan of biography's and non-fiction. I also love anything Malcom Gladwell. I just got a Nook, if you love reading you need one ASAP.

What is your morning ritual?
Some tea and some geeking on the computer and gym time.

What is the 1 thing you would change in the world?
I wish people were more open minded and learn to venture outside their comfort zones...the world would be a much more friendly place and people would be a hell of a lot happier.

www.katieholden.com